Opened 12 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#392 closed defect (fixed)

enc-dec mismatch occurs when QP_adaptation enabled

Reported by: kazushi Owned by:
Priority: major Milestone: HM-16.1
Component: HM Version: HM-6.0
Keywords: QP adaptation Cc: fbossen, ksuehring, davidf, jct-vc@…


Enc-dec mismatch occurs if MaxCuDQPDepth is set to 1 and encoder config option "-aq 1 -aqr 12" is specified.

Attachments (1)

bugfix_for_ticket_392_v1.patch (4.7 KB) - added by shibahara 12 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by DefaultCC Plugin

  • Cc fbossen ksuehring davidf jct-vc@… added

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by hao

The mismatch occurs even when MaxCuDQPDepth is 2 or 3.

TAppEncoder.exe -c ./cfg/encoder_intra_main.cfg -c ./cfg/per-sequence/BQSquare.cfg -dqd 2 -aq 1 -aqr 12 -f 1 -b ./ticket392.bin
TAppEncoder.exe -c ./cfg/encoder_intra_main.cfg -c ./cfg/per-sequence/BQSquare.cfg -dqd 3 -aq 1 -aqr 12 -f 1 -b ./ticket392.bin

The mismatch disappears with the macro UNIFIED_TRANSFORM_TREE off, though I don't know whether it is actually the culprit or not.

Changed 12 years ago by shibahara

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by shibahara

It is due to the bug that incorrect AbsPartIdx was given to decodeQP()
and encodeQP() which are called under the lines in UNIFIED_TRANSFORM_TREE.

Attached patch was made just now and asked Sato-san to check.
I'll investigate the issue reported in ticket 397.

comment:4 Changed 10 years ago by karlsharman

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

The problem cases no longer produce mismatches, and aspects of the patch are present in the current HM software.

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by ksuehring

  • Milestone set to HM-16.1
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

This list contains all users that will be notified about changes made to this ticket.

These roles will be notified: Reporter, Owner, Subscriber, Participant

  • David Flynn(Subscriber)
  • Frank Bossen(Subscriber)
  • Hirofumi Aoki(Participant)
  • jct-vc@…(Subscriber)
  • Karl Sharman(Participant)
  • karl.sharman@…(Always)
  • Karsten Suehring(Subscriber, Participant, Always)
  • Kazushi Sato(Reporter)