Opened 11 years ago

Closed 11 years ago

#37 closed defect (fixed)

Missing condition in H.7.3.4 Slice header syntax

Reported by: parkmw Owned by: tech
Priority: minor Component: 3D-HEVC text
Version: 3D-HEVC Test Model 4 Keywords:
Cc: tech, jct-3v@…


In H.7.3.4 Slice header syntax,

else if( layer_id ) {



should be replaced by

else if( layer_id ) {

if( slice_ic_enable_flag ) {




in order to align with the HTM software implementation.

Change history (5)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by DefaultCC Plugin

  • Cc tech jct-3v@… added

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by Tomohiro Ikai

I agree.

This misalignment was introduced by adoption of D0060 "3D-CE5.h related: Removal of parsing dependency for illumination compensation". Because slice_ic_disable_merge_zero_idx_flag is useless if slice_ic_enable_flag is false and the current HEVC design doesn't allow these obvious redundancy, text should be aligned with the code.

comment:3 Changed 11 years ago by Tomohiro Ikai

Additionally, the following text change is also needed.

else if( layer_id ) {


else if( layer_id && first_slice_in_pic_flag) {

On the other hand, the software seems also have a problem. The syntax position is different from that in the specification.

Maybe I need to fix that part in the software on the integration of JCT3V-E0046. Of course, the fix should be encapsulated with the individual macro.

comment:4 Changed 11 years ago by Tomohiro Ikai

Except for the first reported aspect (slice_ic_disable_merge_zero_idx_flag), HTM-DEV-2.0 seems OK (no mismach). The software doesn't check first_slice_in_pic_flag and decode the flag at the right position.

comment:5 Changed 11 years ago by tech

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

This list contains all users that will be notified about changes made to this ticket.

These roles will be notified: Reporter, Owner, Subscriber, Participant

  • Gerhard Tech(Owner, Subscriber, Participant, Always)
  • jct-3v@…(Subscriber)
  • Karsten Suehring(Always)
  • Min Woo Park(Reporter)
  • Tomohiro Ikai(Participant)